



Third Australia-Europe Economic Relations Dialogue Tuesday, 04 October 2022

Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, Senatssaal

Program (as of September 27, 2022)

9:00am	Welcome and opening – Peter Draper (IIT), Andreas Freytag (FSU), Mike Plummer (Johns Hopkins University, Bologna) Welcome address – Uwe Cantner, Vice-President FSU Jena
9:15am	Keynote: Anabel Gonzalez, Deputy Director General, WTO: Trade Policy in Times of Systems Competition (virtual)
10:00am	Values-Based Trade Chair: Silke Übelmesser, FSU Jena Discussants:
	Volker Treier, DIHK Naoise McDonagh, University of Adelaide Jan Schmitz, DG Trade, European Commission Tobias Pierlings, Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Action
11:30am	Morning Break
11:45am	Geo-Economics and the EU-Australia Free Trade Agreement Chair: Mike Plummer, Johns Hopkins University Bologna Discussants:
	Philip Green, Australian Ambassador Lauren Johnston, University of Adelaide Christoph Seemann, Federal Foreign Office Peter Petri, Brandeis International Business School (IBS)
1:15pm	Lunch Break
2:30pm	Climate Change, Energy, and the EU's Approach to Sustainability in Trade Chair: Richard Pomfret, University of Adelaide Discussants:
	Ulrich Weigl, EU Commission Claudia Schmucker, DGAP Philipp Lamprecht, ECIPE Matthias Menter, FSU Jena
4:00pm	Coffee Break
4:15pm	Digital Trade Cooperation Chair: Christian Kreuder-Sonnen, FSU Jena Discussants:
	Crispin Conroy, ICC Paris Matthias Bauer, ECIPE Stefanie Hock, University of Hannover Rolf Langhammer, IfW Kiel
5.45pm	Final remarks – Peter Draper (IIT), Andreas Freytag (FSU), Mike Plummer (Johns Hopkins University, Bologna)